Falling in Love with Instagram

6 May

So while I went on my blogging hiatus, I am very proud to announce that I did not completely go off the grid and lived like a caveman (or as I have learned while minoring in Gender Equality in my undergrad studies in UP, cavewoman.)

I discovered the pot of luck hidden in the end of the rainbow, unguarded by the leprechauns. Or as I would like to call it, Instagram. What is instagram, you might ask? Well, if you’ve been living under a ginormous rock for the past few months, no offense, I researched a brief description for you. (More like googled and clicked on the entry at the very top of the results page, wikipedia-d it and copy-pasted it here cause I’m feeling a bit lazy. Heehee.)

Instagram is a free photo sharing program launched in October 2010 that allows users to take a photo, apply a digital filter to it, and then share it on a variety of social networking services, including Instagram’s own. A distinctive feature confines photos to a square shape, similar to Kodak Instamatic and Polaroid images, in contrast to the 4:3 aspect ratio typically used by mobile device cameras

Yeah, that’s about the gist of it. What I like most about Instgram though is that it took the best qualities and functionalites of Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr, and merged it into one sweet package. It’s connecting people one photo at a time. Another amazing thing is the ability to filter the photos. It save so much time for the minor tweaks and edits that people usually do before posting pictures. It’s simple, smooth and classy.

Of course, like in a battery, there is a positive side and a negative side as well, for it to function perfectly. The thing that I don’t like about IG is that it reduces the quality of your photos. And the most obvious one is that IG being solely available through mobile devices. Another thing is its inability to create photo collages and put text in the photo itself.

So yeah, I’ll be re-posting the photos I’ve put up in my IG account here for all the world to see. By the way, follow me on IG for more updates. Search for @dianesaur.

xoxo,
D.

Leave a Reply

